Best Photo Memories of 2010


 

This is it.  The last day of the year. What did I write in the book of my life in 2010?  Did I get it right? One never knows but the time flew.  From the comforts of a known world it’s been a dodgy journey through unfamiliar territory. Joys of daily life that family, friends – new and old — brought, were marked poignantly by the loss of loved ones.

Olu flowers in my house. January 1, 2010. Photograph©Chulie de Silva

January started with me playing around with my camera trying to teach myself photography. On hindsight,  that was a good start for what was to come by towards the end of the year. January also brings fond memories of Nepal.

Glass bottom boat at Unawatuna. Photograph©Chulie de Silva

February brought my sister on a visit from Brisbane and we spent time in Galle and Unawatuna. A photo review won’t be complete without one of the sea!

March brought an unforgettable experience of  travelling again on the A9, meeting the IDPs being resettled.

Mother and baby at Mallawi hospital. Photograph©Chulie de Silva


  

Cattle on the A9 road. Photograph©Chulie de Silva

 

Barefoot to school: recently resettled children from IDP families at assembly in school in Thenniyankulam, North Sri Lanka. Much value is placed on education and parents strive to give the best education for the children. Photograph©Chulie de Silva

April was Sydney and time to  see the star of my life my granddaughter Tara.

Tara and Ranil in Mosman. Photograph©Chulie de Silva

August was a time to celebrate my mother’s 88 th Birthday.  From a beautiful young wife who came to Hikkaduwa from Panadura, she now is the epitome of a gracious beauty.

Amma on her 88th Birthday 22 August 2010. Photograph©Chulie de Silva

 August is also a time we remember my father Benny Kirtisinghe.  My mother, Manel sang a lilting poem from memory that he had written to her from Hong Kong in the 60’s that told her how much she missed him. For him till he breathed his last she was his Flower of Love. Today, I spoke to her on Skype.  She was full of smiles. Her grandson, my brother Prasanna’s son Mathisha has passed his A level exam with 3 A’s.

There were moments, after the tsunami that I wondered if we were going to get this far.. We are a bit like veterans of a famous battle, recalling the bad times and proud we have survived the storms. Will life be free of troubles in 2011? Of course not. So on this last day of the year, I’ll leave you with a mantra I picked up from my constant companion and the modern treasure trove of knowledge—the Internet.

Sit cross-legged on the floor. Close your eyes. Now, repeat the following ancient spiritual phrase: ‘Ai amdi veribest’. That, of course, is the phonetic version. The original Sanskrit is hard to read. Anyway, if you want to know what it means, just say it over and over. It will swiftly reveal its own, very personal message to you.

Best wishes for 2011 and beyond.  

 
 

Statue and lotus flowers at my father's almsgiving. 31 August 2010. Galle, Sri Lanka. Photograph©Chulie de Silva

 

9 thoughts on “Best Photo Memories of 2010

  1. I see it has been a full and eventful year. am sure 2011 will prove the mantra with many more interesting things for you to shoot – with your camera.

    loads of best wishes for tomorrow and the rest of 2011

  2. Dear Chulie,

    Wish you a happy holiday season and the very best for the coming New Year. Keep up the good work. I particularly find your pictures and news about the Kirthisinghe family very interesting.

    Lakshman

  3. Dear Chulie, as always, your words bring tears to my eyes, and your photos warm my heart with their beauty and compassion. Thank you for sharing all this with us.

    Sending warmest wishes for 2011,

    Jan

  4. Am so glad you take time from your busy life, Chuli, to share your perfect photos of “life” and your reflections. Have a Happy, Healthy 2011 and I look forward to future blogs. Delores

  5. Chulie, what a wonderful gift your blog is to everyone, and what a wonderful growing record for you, your family and little Tara. One wonders how young people will be communicating when Tara is grown and doing whatever blogging is in twenty years. Happy New Year and thinking of you at this special bittersweet time of year for your family. Your Amma looks marvelous btw.

  6. Beautiful, beautiful photos Podi Amma. The one of Archchi is so simple but beautiful. Please tell her I think she looks so serene, graceful and content. A belated Happy Birthday to you, hope you had a nice day. And hope 2011 bring you happiness, peace and no doubt wonderful, amazing adventures. All our love, Ranmali

Leave a Reply

