Fuzzy memories of Galle Face


Heavenly shades of night are falling, it’s twilight time
Out of the mist your voice is calling, “It’s twilight time”
When purple colored curtains mark the end of day
I’ll hear you, my dear, at twilight time

Deepening shadows gather splendor as day is done
Fingers of night will soon surrender the setting sun
I count the moments, darling, ’til you’re here with me
Together, at last, at twilight time

"Heavenly shades of night are falling, it's twilight time
Out of the mist your voice is calling, it's twilight time
When purple-colored curtains mark the end of day 
I'll hear you, my dear, at twilight time. ..." Photo Chulie de Silva Words from the song by Platters

Galle Face Promenade. Colombo, Sri Lanka. Photo Chulie de Silva.

Here, in the afterglow of day
We keep our rendezvous beneath the blue
Here, in the sweet and same old way
I fall in love again as I did then

Photo Chulie de Silva

Photo Chulie de Silva

Deep in the dark, your kiss will thrill me like days of old
Lighting the spark of love that fills me with dreams untold
Each day, I pray for evening just to be with you
Together, at last, at twilight time

photo Chulie de Silva

Photo Chulie de Silva

The words are from the popular song “Twilight Time, ” first recorded in 1944. My favourite is the version of the song recorded by The Platters in 1958.

2 thoughts on “Fuzzy memories of Galle Face

Leave a Reply

