Secrets of the Sea at Hikkaduwa


Photograph©Chulie de Silva

Ah! what pleasant visions haunt me
As I gaze upon the sea!
All the old romantic legends,
All my dreams, come back to me.

Photograph©Chulie de Silva

Like the long waves on a sea-beach,
Where the sand as silver shines,
With a soft, monotonous cadence,
Flow its unrhymed lyric lines. …

Photograph©Chulie de Silva

Photograph©Chulie de Silva

Till my soul is full of longing
For the secret of the sea,
And the heart of the great ocean
Sends a thrilling pulse through me.

Words from Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (from Seaside and Fireside, 1850)

6 thoughts on “Secrets of the Sea at Hikkaduwa

Leave a Reply

